Courtesy: MAAC Sports

Jacksonville Sweeps 2017 MAAC Women's Rowing Major Awards

Courtesy:  MAAC Sports
Release:  May 17, 2017

EDISON, NJ – The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) has announced the 2017 All-MAAC Rowing Teams and Coach of the Year, as voted on by the league's head coaches. Jacksonville University swept all four major awards awards. Jacksonville earned All-MAAC honors for the Varsity Four boat, Second Varsity Eight boat, and the Varsity Eight boat. In addition, Jacksonville Head Coach Mike Lane was voted as the 2017 MAAC Coach of the Year.

The Dolphin's Varsity Four boat included coxswain Lauren Whetzel and rowers Madison Black, Katharina Dinsmore, Victoria West, and Alexis Feraco. In the 2017 MAAC Women's Rowing Championship, the varsity four boat earned a first place finish in the Grand Final with a time of 8:21.909, beating Marist by one second.

Jacksonville's Second Varsity Eight boat also took first place in the Grand Final. The boat finished with a time of 7:28.418 in the championship. The boat was led by coxswain Emily Niermann and rowed by Sara Miller, Rochelle Martinez, Yailene Herrera, Jennifer Pavlik, Samantha Amadio, Nicole Martin, Alex Pulliam, and Emily Woods.

Jacksonville's Varsity Eight boat was crewed by coxswain Claire McLenna and rowers Delaney Plunkett, Sarah Goodman, Veronika Stasaityte, Stacey Price, Madison Boyer, Jessica Shipkowski, Meg Coyle, and Victoria Tkacz. The boat earned the gold medal in the Grand Final of the MAAC Championship with a final race time of 7:21.190.

Jacksonville Head Coach Mike Lane was awarded the MAAC Women's Rowing Coach of the Year for the second-straight year. Lane coached the Dolphins to back to back MAAC titles.

The Jacksonville Dolphins will represent the MAAC at the 2017 NCAA Women's Rowing Championships. The event takes place Friday May 26, through Sunday May 28 at Lake Mercer in West Windsor, NJ.

Varsity Four



Lauren Whetzel


Madison Black


Katharina Dinsmore


Tori West


Alexis Feraco

Second Varsity Eight



Emily Niermann


Sara Miller


Rochelle Martinez


Yailene Herrera


Jennifer Pavlik


Samantha Amadio


Nicole Martin


Alex Pulliam


Emily Woods

Varsity Eight


Claire McLenna


Delaney Plunkett


Sarah Goodman


Veronika Stasaityte


Stacey Price


Madison Boyer


Jessica Shipkowski


Meg Coyle


Victoria Tkacz

MORE FROM MAAC Women's Rowing

2017 MAAC Rowing Championship Awards...
2017 MAAC Rowing Championship Post:...
MAAC SAAC: You Can Play Project