Three MAAC Water Polo Programs Honored by ACWPC for Academic Success
Courtesy: MAAC Sports  
Release: 08/18/2014
Courtesy: MAAC Sports

Edison, N.J. – The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches' (ACWPC) recognized three Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) water polo programs as ACWPC Academic Award Recipients for their scholarly excellence during the 2013-14 year. Overall, 31 teams ranging from division I to NAIA institutions were honored with the distinction.

The three MAAC programs includes Iona College, Siena College and Wagner College.

The award honors collegiate water polo teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.0 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale.

2014 marks the third consecutive year that Wagner College has held the highest GPA in the nation with a mark of 3.57.

Additionally, twenty two MAAC student athletes were rewarded for their individual academic accomplishments. The 2014 ACWPC Scholar-Athlete team members must have held a GPA of 3.2 and above. The honorees from Iona College are Erika Lauraitis, Dana Andrea, Georgina Lee, Amy Olsen and Hannah Cross. From Siena College, Kori Swieter, Sarah Abbott, Madeline Hurley, Brianna Ritota, Stephanie Bundas and Samantha Voelker were named to the team. Honorees from Wagner College include Stacey McGregor, Gabryel Oloap, Jessica Burdge, Lily Doerfler, Michelle Greenough, Sidney Hoshko, Emily Riddle, Megan Rodriguez, Amanda Sutherland and Rachel Burns.

About the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
The MAAC, headquartered in Edison, N.J., consists of 11 member institutions for 2014: Canisius College, Fairfield University, Iona College, Manhattan College, Marist College, Monmouth University, Niagara University, Quinnipiac University, Rider University, Saint Peter's University and Siena College. For more on the conference please visit, www.maacsports.com. Be sure to follow the MAAC on Facebook and Twitter: @MAACSports.

MAAC Water Polo

Water Polo
Team MAAC Pct. Overall Pct.
Iona 0-0 .000 0-0 .000
Marist 0-0 .000 0-0 .000
Siena 0-0 .000 0-0 .000
St. Francis (NY) 0-0 .000 0-0 .000
Villanova 0-0 .000 0-0 .000
VMI 0-0 .000 0-0 .000
Wagner 0-0 .000 0-0 .000
watch MAAC.TVLoginJoin
Upcoming Live Events
Tue. Sep 1
6:45 pm
Manhattan Volleyball vs. Stony...
Live Video Coming Soon!
Wed. Sep 2
6:45 pm
Manhattan Men's Soccer vs....
Live Video Coming Soon!
Thu. Sep 3
3:50 pm
Iona Women's Soccer vs....
Live Video Coming Soon!
Fri. Sep 4
6:55 pm
Fairfield Women's Soccer...
Live Video Coming Soon!
Sat. Sep 5
6:50 pm
Men's Soccer vs. NJIT
Live Video Coming Soon!
Sun. Sep 6
11:55 am
Fairfield Field Hockey vs...
Live Video Coming Soon!
Sun. Sep 6
1:50 pm
Iona Women's Soccer vs....
Live Video Coming Soon!
Mon. Sep 7
11:45 am
Saint Peter's Women's...
Live Video Coming Soon!
Tue. Sep 8
6:45 pm
Manhattan Volleyball vs....
Live Video Coming Soon!
Wed. Sep 9
4:20 pm
Iona Men's Soccer vs....
Live Video Coming Soon!
The Rock
Lids - Anaconda
Levy Marketing + Awards