Six Seniors Given First Team All MAAC Honors

Courtesy:  -
Release:  March 12, 2002

  • Casey and Holden at the Top of the Rookie Class
  • Ice Hockey Holy Cross' Paul Pearl Honored As MAAC Coach of the Year
  • All-Academic Team

    EDISON, NJ - The MAAC Hockey League named Holy Cross forward Pat Rissmiller (Belmont, MA) the 2001-2002 MAAC Offensive Player of the Year on Wednesday night following a vote of the league's 11 head coaches at the conclusion of the regular season. Bentley senior Steve Tobio (Belmont, MA) was named the 2001-2002 MAAC Defensive Player of the Year while Mercyhurst goalie Peter Aubry (Windsor, ON) earned the 2001-2002 ITECH MAAC Goalie of the Year award, an honor which he captured last season as well.

    Rissmiller, a senior forward, finished second in conference scoring with 37 points (10-27-37) and his 27 assists were tops in conference play. He currently ranks second in overall scoring with 40 points (23-17-40). Rissmiller who was awarded the ITECH MAAC Player of the Week on January 28, helped lead the Crusaders to a tie for third place in the regular season with a conference record of 14-7-5.

    Tobio, a senior defensemen, finished in first in conference defenseman scoring with 33 points (11-17-28). He was a four year starter and captain for the Falcons. Tobio also won the honor in the 1999-2000 season, making him the only two-time winner ever in that catagory.

    Aubry, a senior goaltender, was the anchor in the leagues best defense (1.85 g/gm) and led the Lakers to the league's best record at 21-2-3. Aubry was named ITECH MAAC Goalie of the Week six times and recorded three shutouts. He finished first in conference play with a 1.84 goals against average, first with a .938 save percentage, and first with a .857 winning percentage (17-2-2). Aubry is the first two time winner in MAAC history in this catagory. Rissmiller, Tobio, and Aubry were all named to the ITECH All-MAAC First Team. The other two forwards on the ITECH All-MAAC First Team were Mercyhurst senior Louis Goulet (Kapuskasing, ON) who is third in the league in assists with 22 (7-22-29) and Iona senior Ryan Carter (Fort Nelson, BC) who is was first in conference play with 40 points (17-23-40). Carter earned 1st team honors for a record third time.

    Rounding out the defense on the ITECH All-MAAC First Team was senior Mike Boylan (Durham, ON) of Connecticut who finished tied for seventh in defensemen scoring in conference play with 20 points (6-11-17), and help lead his team to Thursday's semifinal game.

    Holy Cross junior Brandon Doria (Bayonne, NJ) garnered a spot on the ITECH All-MAAC Second Team. Doria finished fourth in conference scoring with 32 points (11-21-32). Quinnipiac junior Brian Herbert (Langley, BC) was also named to the team, tying for fifth in the league with conference scoring (11-20-31). Rounding out the All-MAAC Second Teams were Sacred Heart junior Martin Paquet (St. Catherine, PQ) and Adam Tackaberry (Napeon, ON) from Mercyhurst. Paquet finished the regular season tied for first in short handed points with 3 (2-1-3) and in seventh place in points with 30 (13-17-30). Tackaberry finished the season tied for fourth in powerplay points with 15 (6-9-15), and tied for eighth in points with 29 (13-16-29).

    Iona senior Nathan Lutz (Mistatim, Sask) garnered one of the defensive spots on the ITECH All-MAAC Second Team. He was third among defensemen in conference scoring with 24 points (8-16-24). Holy Cross sophomore R.J. Irving (Marlboro, MA) filled out the defensemen positions on the ITECH All-MAAC Second Team. He finished second among all defensemen in conference scoring with 26 points (7-19-26).

    Sacred Heart goaltender Eddy Ferhi (Charenton, FR) rounds out the ITECH All-MAAC Second Team. He was fourth in the conference with a .910 save percentage and was fifth in conference play with a .614 winning percentage.

    Ryan Carter, Sr., Iona F
    Louis Goulet, Sr., Mercyhurst F
    Pat Rissmiller, Sr., Holy Cross F
    Mike Boylan, Sr., Connecticut D
    Steve Tobio, Sr., Bentley D
    Peter Aubry, Sr., Mercyhurst G

    Brandon Doria, Jr., Holy Cross F
    Brian Herbert, Jr., Quinnipiac F
    Martin Paquet, Jr., Sacred Heart F
    Adam Tackaberry, So., Mercyhurst F
    Nathan Lutz, Sr., Iona D
    R.J. Irving, So., Holy Cross D
    Eddy Ferhi, Jr., Sacred Heart G


    Throw Back Thursday: 2002 MAAC Hockey...
    2014 MAAC Honor Roll: Brady Tracy
    2014 MAAC Kid's Hoop Carnival
    Cheer and Dance Knockout Challenge