Iona's Guerin Elected to Basketball Hall of Fame
Courtesy: Iona Athletic Communications  
Release: 02/15/2013
Courtesy: MAAC Sports

HOUSTON, TX and SPRINGFIELD, MA - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the first five members of the Class of 2013, all of whom were directly elected by distinguished committees focused on preserving all areas from the game of basketball. These direct-elects include Roger Brown voted in from the American Basketball Association (ABA) Committee, Edwin B. Henderson from the Early African American Pioneers Committee, Oscar Schmidt from the International Committee, Richard Guerin from the Veterans Committee and Russ Granik from the Contributor Direct Election Committee.

This year marks the third year of the direct-elect process. Two years ago, the ABA and Early African-American Pioneers committees were added to maintain a strong focus on keeping history on the forefront of the voting process and to preserve a balance between two eras of basketball. These five individuals have been directly elected into the Basketball Hall of Fame and will be a part of the Enshrinement Ceremonies in September along with the eventual members from the North American and Women's committees.

These electees will join the eventual candidates of the North American and Women's committees from a pool of finalists that includes four-time NBA All-Star Maurice Cheeks, five time NBA All-Star Tim Hardaway, three-time coach of the year Sylvia Hatchell, four-time NBA All-Star Spencer Haywood, two-time NBA Championship coach Tom Heinsohn, four time NBA All-Star Bernard King, five-time NCAA Final Four coach Guy Lewis, nine-time NBA All-Star Gary Payton, six-time NCAA Final Four coach Rick Pitino, six-time NBA All-Star Mitch Richmond, five-time WNBA All-Star Dawn Staley and four-time NCAA Final Four coach Jerry Tarkanian.

The entire Class of 2013 will be announced on Monday, April 8 at a news conference in Atlanta prior to the NCAA's Men's Championship game. A Finalist needs 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The Class of 2013 will be enshrined during festivities in Springfield, Mass. on Sunday, September 8. Tickets to the 2013 Enshrinement and Induction Celebration are available by calling the Hall of Fame at (413) 231-5540.

From the Veterans Committee RICHARD GUERIN [Player] - Guerin is widely known as one of best all-around players ever in the NBA, scoring over 14,676 points during his 13-year stint. The six-time NBA All-star was a member of the New York Knicks from 1956-1963 and was the first Knick to score 2,000 points in a single season (1961-62). He averaged 20.1 points per game with the team and recorded 4,278 rebounds and 4,211 assists in his 13 NBA seasons. He finished his career as a player/coach for the St. Louis/Atlanta Hawks, compiling an NBA coaching record of 327-291 with the Hawks organization and was named NBA coach of the year in 1968. Rewriting the basketball record books as a collegiate player at Iona College, Guerin scored 1,375 points, Pag e 3 of 3 including a career average of 19.6 points per game and graduated the leading scorer in Iona basketball history. The New York Knicks drafted him in the second round in 1956.

MAAC Men's Basketball

Men's Basketball
Team MAAC Pct. Overall Pct.
Iona 17-3 .850 26-9 .743
Rider 15-5 .750 21-12 .636
Manhattan 13-7 .650 19-14 .576
Monmouth 13-7 .650 18-15 .545
Canisius 11-9 .550 18-14 .563
Quinnipiac 9-11 .450 15-15 .500
Saint Peter's 8-12 .400 16-18 .471
Siena 7-13 .350 11-20 .355
Niagara 7-13 .350 8-22 .267
Fairfield 5-15 .250 7-24 .226
Marist 5-15 .250 7-25 .219
watch MAAC.TVLoginJoin
Upcoming Live Events
Sat. Mar 28
10:50 am
Canisius Men's Lacrosse...
Live Video Coming Soon!
Wed. Apr 1
2:45 pm
Women's Lacrosse vs Iona
Live Video Coming Soon!
Sat. Apr 11
10:45 am
Women's Lacrosse vs...
Live Video Coming Soon!
The Rock
Lids - Anaconda
Levy Marketing + Awards