Six MAAC Men's Basketball Players Earn Spots on the All-Met Teams

Courtesy:  MAAC Sports
Release:  April 15, 2009
Courtesy: MAAC Sports

WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. Six MAAC men’s basketball players were named to the All-Met Teams, selected by the members of the Met Basketball Writers Association.


Charles Jenkins of Hofstra was named winner Wednesday of the 76th Haggerty Award as the 2008-09 All-Met Division I Men’s College Basketball Player of the Year, presented by the National Invitation Tournament and the MBWA.


Tom Pecora of Hofstra won the Peter A. Carlesimo Coach of the Year award for the second time.


Mike Rosario of Rutgers was named Rookie of the Year.


Joining Jenkins on the All-Met first team: Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall; Ryan Thompson, Rider; Paris Horne and D.J. Kennedy, St. John’s; Jaytornah Wisseh, LIU.


Named to the second team: Rosario; Ryan Schneider, Marist; Robert Mitchell, Seton Hall; Darryl Crawford, Manhattan; Sean Baptiste, Fairleigh Dickinson; Wesley Jenkins, Saint Peter’s.


Named to the third team: Jio Fontan, Fordham; Eugene Harvey, Seton Hall; Jason Miller, Columbia; Chris Smith, Manhattan; Scott Machado, Iona; Ricky Cadell, St. Francis.


A sophomore guard from Queens, N.Y., Jenkins led the Pride with 19.7 ppg (second in the CAA), 137 assists/4.3 apg, 46 steals, 40.4 percent shooting from the floor and 82.1 percent from the free throw line.


Named to the All-Colonial Athletic Association first team, Jenkins is the first sophomore to win the Haggerty Award since Chris Mullin of St. John’s in 1983. He is the fifth player from Hofstra to win the award, which dates back to 1934. Previous Pride players to win: Bill Thieben, 1956; Rich Laurel, 1977; Speedy Claxton, 2000; Norm Richardson, 2001.


In his eighth season, Pecora guided the Pride (21-11) to its fourth 20-win season in the last five years, and a nine-victory improvement over 2007-08. With a career record at Hofstra of 136-111, he previously was named coach of the year in 2006.


Presentations are scheduled for the All-Met first and second teams on Wednesday evening, April 15, at the Giants Stadium Club in East Rutherford, N.J.




FIRST TEAM: Charles Jenkins, Hofstra, 6-3, So., G, Queens, N.Y.; Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall, 6-5, So., G, Harlem, N.Y.; Ryan Thompson, Rider, 6-6, Jr., G, Mt. Laurel, N.J.; Paris Horne, St. John’s, 6-3, So., G-F, Middletown, Del.; D.J. Kennedy, St. John’s, 6-6, So., G-F, Pittsburgh; Jaytornah Wisseh, LIU, 6-1, Jr., G, Brooklyn, N.Y.


SECOND TEAM: Mike Rosario, Rutgers, 6-3, Fr., G, Jersey City, N.J.; Ryan Schneider, Marist, 6-7, Sr., F, Yorktown Heights, N.Y.; Robert Mitchell, Seton Hall, 6-6, Jr., F, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Darryl Crawford, Manhattan, 6-4, Jr., G, Harlem, N.Y.; Sean Baptiste, FDU, 6-3, Jr., G, No. Brunswick, N.J.; Wesley Jenkins, Saint Peter’s, 6-2, So., G, Newark, N.J.


THIRD TEAM: Jio Fontan, Fordham, 6-0, Fr., G, Paterson, N.J.; Eugene Harvey, Seton Hall, 6-0, Jr., G, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Jason Miller, Columbia, 6-8, Sr., F, Hamilton, Ohio; Chris Smith, Manhattan, 6-3, So., G, Millstone, N.J.; Scott Machado, Iona, 6-1, Fr., G, Queens, N.Y.; Ricky Cadell, St. Francis, 6-2, So., G, New York


Haggerty Award Player of the Year: Charles Jenkins, Hofstra

Rookie of the Year: Mike Rosario, Rutgers

Coach of the Year: Tom Pecora, Hofstra

MORE FROM MAAC Men's Basketball

Saint Peter's Welton on Senior Season
2017 MAAC Men's Lacrosse Weekly Awards:...
Saint Peter's Student Athletes on...
Saint Peter's wins the 2017 CIT...