MAAC Announces 2014 Rowing All-MAAC Teams

Courtesy:  MAAC Sports
Release:  April 25, 2014
Courtesy: MAAC Sports


West Windsor, N.J. - The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference announced the 2014 All-MAAC Rowing Awards, voted on by the league’s head coaches. Winners were chosen for the varsity fours, varsity eights and second varsity eights for both the men’s and women’s programs.

On the men’s side, Marist College won the top award for the men’s varsity four, which included coxswain Christina Popowytsch and rowers Sacha Castellani, Kevin Cabello, Oliver Lee and Cody Brooks. 

The Red Foxes also tied with Fairfield University for All-MAAC honors for their men’s varsity eight boats. Marist’s boat included coxswain Chris Leonard and rowers Brendan McLaughlin, Curtis Mahan, Chris Behnke, Kevin Coomey, Jake Enright, Matt Klos, Dan Nesfeder, and Cameron Schuh. Fairfield’s boat is comprised of coxswain Olivia Vita along with rowers Tom Siddall, Alex Nowicki, Brendan Spearing, Luke Auger, Charlie Serpa, Floris-Jan Floris, Herbie Marache, and Robert Lawler.

The men’s second varsity eight boat from Jacksonville earned conference honors.  The boat consists of coxswain Stephen McDonald and rowers Luke Myhree, Shane Barnett, Victor Gargaun, Travis Pulliam, Scott Marx, Frank Maurice, Will Vanneck and Nico MacKay.

On the women’s side, the varsity four boat from Marist College was the top choice amongst the head coaches.  The Red Foxes' boat includes coxswain Alexis Batulis and rowers Kim Foster, Carrie Rapp, Danielle Villa and Kristin Mahoney.

Jacksonville University claimed the top honors for the women’s varsity eight.  The Dolphins' boat includes coxswain Maycee Dioneda along with rowers Danielle Keeler, Stefanie Keeler, Jules Welch, Cat Plesko, Victoria Hernandez, Jessica Mathews, Veronika Stasaityte, and Jordyn Clary.

League honors went to Marist’s second varsity eight who tied with both Fairfield University and Jacksonville University, the Red Foxes' boat is represented by coxswain Erica Bogdan as well as rowers Kristin Wilson, Nora Culhane, Astrid Skjaerpe, Meghan Ladouceur, Alicen Shaw, Katherine Perry, Theresa Fillippini and Kira Melendez. Fairfield's boat is comprised of coxswain Nicole Antonucci along with rowers Amanda Murphy, Victoria Vesce, Avery Adams, Jaclyn Ozyjowski, Samantha Clifford, Kim Ginsburg, Melissa Iannucci and Jeannette Eckelman. Jacksonville's boat consists of coxswain Lauren Whetzel and rowers Anna Palmer, Laura Stevenson, Jenna Holt, Victoria Tkacz, Allie Rector, Ashley Hirt, Jodi Coia and Sydney Warpness.

Matt Lavin from Marist was named the 2014 MAAC Men’s Coach of the Year, while Jim Mitchell from Jacksonville was chosen as the 2014 MAAC Women’s Coach of the Year.

Men's Varsity Four



Christina Popowytsch


Sacha Castellani


Kevin Cabello


Oliver Lee


Cody Brooks

 Men's Varsity Eight



Chris Leonard


Brendan McLaughlin


Curtis Mahan


Chris Behnke


Kevin Coomey


Jake Enright


Matt Klos


Dan Nesfeder


Cameron Schuh



Olivia Vita


Tom Siddall


Alex Nowicki


Brendan Spearing


Luke Auger


Charlie Serpa


Floris-Jan Floris


Herbie Marache


Robert Lawler

 Men's Second Varsity Eight



Stephen McDonald


Luke Myhree


Shane Barnett


Victor Gargaun


Travis Pulliam


Scott Marx


Frank Maurice


Will Vanneck


Nico MacKay

 Women's Varsity Four



Alexis Batulis


Kim Foster


Carrie Rapp


Danielle Villa


Kristin Mahoney

 Women's Varsity Eight



Maycee Dioneda


Danielle Keeler


Stefanie Keeler


Jules Welch


Cat Plesko


Victoria Hernandez


Jessica Mathews


Veronika Stasaityte


Jordyn Clary

 Women's Second Varsity Eight



Erica Bogdan


Kristin Wilson


Nora Culhane


Astrid Skjaerpe


Meghan Ladouceur


Alicen Shaw


Katherine Perry


Theresa Fillippini


Kira Melendez



Nicole Antonucci


Amanda Murphy


Victoria Vesce


Avery Adams


Jaclyn Ozyjowski


Samantha Clifford


Kim Ginsburg


Melissa Iannucci


Jeannette Eckelman



Lauren Whetzel


Anna Palmer


Laura Stevenson


Jenna Holt


Victoria Tkacz


Allie Rector


Ashley Hirt


Jodi Coia


Sydney Warpness

 Men’s Coach of the Year: Matt Lavin, Marist

Women’s Coach of the Year: Jim Mitchell, Jacksonville


About the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
The MAAC, headquartered in Edison, N.J., consists of 11 member institutions: Canisius College, Fairfield University, Iona College, Manhattan College, Marist College, Monmouth University, Niagara University, Quinnipiac University, Rider University, Saint Peter's University and Siena College. ANC Sports Enterprises, LLC. is the league’s marketing consultant and has the exclusive sales rights to the MAAC.  For more on the conference please visit, The MAAC Twitter account is @MAACSports and use the hashtag #MAACRow for rowing tweets.


MORE FROM MAAC Women's Rowing

2017 MAAC Rowing Championship Awards...
2017 MAAC Rowing Championship Post:...
MAAC SAAC: You Can Play Project