Courtesy: MAAC Sports

Four Named to ECAC Field Hockey First-Team, Koch & Piersanti Earn Rookie & Defensive Player of the Year

Courtesy:  ECAC Sports Communications
Release:  November 29, 2016
DANBURY, Conn. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced its 2016 Division I Field Hockey All-Star team.

University of Delaware sophomore Greta Nauck was tabbed Offensive Player of the Year, while junior Christen Piersanti of Monmouth University earned Defensive Player of the Year honor. Rider University freshman Daane Koch was named Rookie of the Year and University of Delaware Head Coach Rolf van de Kerkhof was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Piersanti had a standout season for the Hawks. The junior goalkeeper was named NFHCA National Player of the Week, honorable mention Sept. 8 and Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) Defensive Player of the Week Sept. 6. Piersanti finished the season 17-3 starting all 20 games in goal for the Hawks racking up 69 saves with a 1.20 goals against average in addition to 10 shutouts.

Koch produced a fantastic rookie campaign, earning MAAC Rookie of the Year. The freshman was named to the First Team All-MAAC in addition to being named MAAC Rookie of the Week four times and MAAC Offensive Player of the Week once during the 2016 season. She started all 19 games for Rider leading the team in goals, points, shots and shots on goal. Koch ranks among the top-five in the MAAC for shots, shots per game, points, points per game, goals, goals per game and game winning goals.

2016 ECAC Division I Field Hockey All-Star Team

Offensive Player of the Year

Greta Nauck, So., University of Delaware

Defensive Player of the Year

Christen Piersanti, Jr., Monmouth University

Rookie of the Year

Daane Koch, Fr., Rider University

Coach of the Year

Rolf van de Kerkhof, University of Delaware


First Team

Miranda Rigg, So., James Madison University
Anna Willocks, So., Saint Joseph’s University
Alexa Hoover, Jr., University of Pennsylvania
Anne Burgoyne, Sr., Fairfield University
Hannah Hall, Jr., James Madison University
Greta Nauck, So., University of Delaware
Alyssa Ercolino, Sr., Monmouth University
Ashley Mendonca, Jr., University of New Hampshire
Shannon Pereira, Jr., Saint Francis University
Julie Laszlo, Jr., Monmouth University
Christen Piersanti, Jr., Monmouth University

In the 77 years since its inception, the ECAC has emerged as the nation's largest Conference, ranging in location from Maine to Georgia, and westerly to Missouri. In 2015-16, the ECAC hosted nearly 100 championships in men's and women's sports as the sponsors of over 5,800 varsity teams and 111,000 student-athletes. For more information, visit

Stay updated on the latest news, championships and more by connecting with the ECAC on Facebook (ECACSports), Twitter (@ECACSports) and Instagram (@ECACSports).


MAAC SAAC: You Can Play Project
Monmouth wins the 2016 MAAC Field Hockey...
Fairfield Head Coach Kane on...