MAAC Announces 2016 All-MAAC Rowing Teams

Courtesy:  MAAC Sports
Release:  May 18, 2016
Courtesy: MAAC Sports

EDISON, NJ – The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) announced the 2016 All-MAAC Rowing Teams and Coaches of the Year, as voted by the league’s head coaches. Winners were chosen for the varsity fours, second varsity eights, and varsity eights, for both the men’s and women’s programs.

For men’s rowing, Fairfield University won the top award for the men’s varsity four, which included coxswain Kara Reese and rowers Travis Day, Jack Santoro, Casey Fuller, and William Quentin. The Stags won the varsity four title at the 2016 MAAC Championship with a time of 7:00.143.

Marist College’s varsity second eight was unanimously selected as an All-MAAC team. The boat includes coxswain Dylan Galimi and rowers Ryan Miller, Kyle Mikesh, Jack Brown, Tadd Bindas, Shane Manner, Dave Warner, Tom Basso, and Nick Olgee. Marist College won the second men’s varsity eight race at the MAAC Championship with a time of 6:27.644 beating Fairfield University by 24 seconds.

The final men’s All-MAAC team was awarded to Marist’s varsity eight boat, in an unanimous selection. The Red Foxes won the MAAC Championship varsity eight race with a time of 6:09.571. The boat includes coxswain Ryan Lillis, Christian Wiles-LaFayette, Brendan McLaughlin, Morgan Stippa, Chris Carlson, Joe Kohn, Chris Lazich, San Arrato, Ray Mattingly.

Marist Head Coach Tom Sanford was selected as the 2016 MAAC Men’s Rowing Coach of the Year. With a total of 33 points, Sanford led the Red Foxes to its 17th MAAC Rowing Championship Title in program history.

For women’s rowing, Fairfield University captured the varsity four All-MAAC team in a unanimous selection. With a time of 7:55.880, the Stags won the Varsity Four Grand Finale race at the 2016 MAAC Championship. The boat includes coxswain Katie Clark and rowers Colleen Sheridan, Cat Clough, Maggie O’Donnell, and Allison Sloan.

Marist College won the top award for the women’s second varsity eight, which included coxswain Erin Gisofli and rowers Kelsi Cottrell, Abby Gragg, Kate Beebe, Maddy Gragg, Coco Defrancesco, Dana Angley, Julia Czarnecki, and Kerri Ernenwein.

The women’s varsity eight of Jacksonville University was voted as the final All-MAAC team selection. The boat includes coxswain Clarie McLenna and rowers Victoria Hernandez, Abby Sorensen, Jules Welch, Jessica Mathews, Nicole Martin, Stacey Price, Micaela Hill, and Victoria Tkacz.

Jacksonville Head Coach Mike Lane was awarded the 2016 MAAC Women’s Rowing Coach of the Year. Lane led the Dolphins to its third consecutive MAAC Rowing title after earning 56 points.

Men’s Varsity 4




Kara Reese


Travis Day


Jack Santoro


Casey Fuller


William Quentin

Men’s Second Varsity 8




Dylan Galimi


Ryan Miller


Kyle Mikesh


Jack Brown


Tadd Bindas


Shane Manner


Dave Warner


Tom Basso


Nick Olgee

Men’s Varsity 8




Ryan Lillis


Christian Wiles-LaFayette


Brenden McLaughlin


Morgan Stippa


Chris Carlson


Joe Kohn


Chris Lazich


Dan Arrato


Ray Mattingly

Women’s Varsity 4




Katie Clark


Colleen Sheridan


Cat Clough


Maggie O'Donnell


Allison Sloan

Women’s Second Varsity 8




Erin Gisofli


Kelsi Cottrell


Abby Gragg


Kate Beebe


Maddy Gragg


Coco Defrancesco


Dana Angley


Julia Czarnecki


Kerri Ernenwein

Women’s Varsity 8



Clarie McLenna


Victoria Hernandez


Abby Sorensen


Jules Welch


Jessica Mathews


Nicole Martin


Stacey Price


Micaela Hill


Victoria Tkacz

Coach of the Year

Men’s Coach of the Year

Tom Sanford, Marist

Women’s Coach of the Year

Mike Lane, Jacksonville

MORE FROM MAAC Women's Rowing

2017 MAAC Rowing Championship Awards...
2017 MAAC Rowing Championship Post:...
MAAC SAAC: You Can Play Project