Courtesy: MAAC Sports

Wagner Claims its Fourth Consecutive MAAC Water Polo Championship

Courtesy:  MAAC Sports
Release:  April 30, 2017

POUGHKEEPSIE, NY - No. 1 seeded Wagner College defeated No. 2 seeded Marist College, 11-7, to become the 2017 MAAC Water Polo Champions. This is Wagner's fourth consecutive MAAC Water Polo Championship and its seventh in program history. The Seahawks are the first team in MAAC history to win four-straight Water Polo Championships.

MAAC Co-Offensive Player of the Year, Kimberly Watson scored four goals including her 100th of the season and was named the 2017 MAAC Water Polo Championship's Most Valuable Player. Wagner seniors Gabryel Oloapu, Emily Riddle, and Amanda Sutherland are the first senior class to win the MAAC Water Polo Championship in each in each year of their collegiate careers.

Watson was the first to get on the board and gave the Seahawks a 1-0 lead at the 6:53 mark in the first quarter. 43.0 seconds later, Marist's senior Jocelyn McQuade (one goal, two assists) answered to tie the game, 1-1. The first quarter would end on back-to-back-to-back goals from Marist's Nastassia McGlothlin (two goals, one assists), Amanda Amorosa (two goals, two assists), and Katie Tijerina (one goal). The Red Foxes took a 4-1 lead into the second quarter.

Watson tallied her 100th goal of the season at the 7:08 mark of the second quarter. The Seahawks received another goal from Watson, and one from Erica Hardy (one goal) to tie the game at 4-4. Amorosa gave the Foxes a 5-4 lead on a power play goal that that was setup on an exclusion on Wagner's Hardy that was drawn by Marist's Grace Doerfler. The only other goal in the second quarter came from Wagner's Lace Anderson, who tied the game, 5-5, going into halftime.

In the third quarter, Marist and Wagner each scored two goals, and went into the fourth and final frame tied, 7-7. The Seahawks received goals from Jacqui Sjogren and Lacey Anderson; while the Foxes saw goals from Grace Doerfler and the game-tying goal from Nastassia McGlothlin.

Wagner freshman Franciska Milo-Sidlo's first of two goals was the game-winner to make the score, 8-7, in the first minute of the fourth quarter. Watson scored her fourth goal of the game in the final frame and freshman All-MAAC Second Team member Millie Pullyplank scored the final goal of the game.

Senior goalie and MAAC Defensive Player of the Year Emily Riddle was able to hold the lead for the Seahawks and had six saves on seven shots and added two steals on the day.

Wagner earned the league's automatic bid to the 2017 NCAA Water Polo Championship. The 2017 NCAA Women's Water Polo selection show is streamed on tomorrow, May 1, at 8:00 p.m.

For all of the up to date information on the 2017 MAAC Water Polo Championship visit

All-Tournament Team

Kayla Allen


Shelby Barkley


Nastassia McGlothlin


Jocelyn McQuade


Franciska Milo-Sidlo


Emily Riddle



Kimberly Watson



Wagner wins the 2017 MAAC Water Polo...
Iona outlasts VMI in Consolation Game
Marist advances to MAAC Championship...
Wagner advances to Championship Game